Compression Test, Indication Of Valve Adjustment Needed??

93 Toyota Sea Breeze V6 Auto 3VZ-E. I have the great misfortune of not having service records for my Toy. There is a sticker that shows the timing belt was replaced at 60,000 miles in 2001. Now 93,000 mi. So the belt is 14 years old, I will replace it while I have things apart along with the water pump and tensioner.

What I do not know is if the valves were adjusted at 60k. While everything is out seems an opportune time to adjust them. Adjustment is beyond my skill level and I do not want to tear it down more than needed. I can get a mobile mechanic in to adjust them once it is apart, if I have too.

The motor runs well and has plenty of power. Today I did a compression test and am I envious of people with the 4 cyl, what a PIA that V6 is to work on! :angry03:

The compression ranges from 160 to 170. Bear in mind on these numbers I am not a mechanic and do not have top of the line tool's, I also did the test on a cold engine.

My question is would the compression #'s indicate weather the valves need adjusting?

Any input, thoughts, ideas, wisdom, offers of help (free), advice, chit chat, criticism or wisecracks greatly appreciated. Jim SW FL

Other people will know way more, but as far as I know, a compression test doesn't have anything to do with valve adjustment. They only affect the engine when it's running. Compression test tells you whether your rings or valves are allowing oil past them, but not whether anything is out of adjustment. Low compression means replacing stuff, not adjusting stuff. But I think those numbers are actually pretty good, though I only know 4 cylinder specs...

The compression ranges from 160 to 170. Bear in mind on these numbers I am not a mechanic and do not have top of the line tool's, I also did the test on a cold engine.

My question is would the compression #'s indicate weather the valves need adjusting?