Generator & 120V Plug-In Questions

Campernoob

Hello and thank you for taking the time to look at my post. I am a proud new owner of a 1989 Toyota Sunrader. This is my first time owning a motorhome (MH) & I have very much to learn. I purchased this MH to live in as I travel the country for a few months. It has a working overhead AC unit but no on-board generator. I have absolutely no knowledge about generators (or MHs) & was hoping to get some advice/recommendations for a good portable generator that would have enough power to run the AC unit and possibly 1 or 2 small appliances (laptop, microwave) concurrently. I've been told to run the AC unit I would need at minimum a 3K watt gen, and from what I've seen those generators are enormous! Does anyone know if a more compact gen exists (affordability is a factor) that could handle the job? Or will I need to invest in & install a rear rack to lock a large gen onto? Also, can I plug the MHs power cable directly into the generator to run the AC, and then also use the interior 120V outlets?

So in summary I'm looking for a generator that can power my Sunrader's AC unit along with providing power to the interior electrical outlets -- considerations include: affordability, portability (smaller=better), & noise level (quieter=better).

Lastly, separate from the generator issue - I've been told that I can't/shouldn't use the AC when plugged into residential power via standard power extension cord, that it would blow a circuit. What type of power cord do I need to run the AC while plugged into a private residence (120V)? From what I've seen 15 amp cords are the ones that plug into standard residential 120V outlets, and 30 amp cords will only plug into 120V power at parks, correct? So is it just the size/gauge of the cable that matters, meaning can I use a 10 or 12-gauge extension cord to plug into a residential 120V outlet & use my AC without damaging anything?