Flexible solar panel

darrel

Is there anyone out there with any knowledge about flexible solar panel. They glue or tape down with no mounting holes. Darrel

• Replies 103
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Uni-solar. They are out of business. Good deals on e-bay. Large size for watts out.

Is there anyone out there with any knowledge about flexible solar panel. They glue or tape down with no mounting holes. Darrel

I'm curious to see what you find out. I've been working with solar energy for over 30 years but not with the flexible arrays. Solar panels need cooling and usually require air-flow underneath them or they overheat and fail prematurely. For that reason, I'm wondering how they can work and last when installed directly on a roof of an RV. My guess it that they don't. I see the new Eco Roadtrek RV that just came out with a roof full of factory installed solar and they used solid panels space a few inches off the roof to provide air ventilation under them. I suspect they decided the flexible panels were not suitable on the roof? Just a guess, I do not know for sure. Maybe somehow the flexible panels can endure more heat buildup then the solid-framed panels . . but I doubt it.

What one chooses to use depends on a number of variable. Where will you be located most of the time. What is the temperature, how much sunshine versus cloud cover. How much roof surface area do you have that is actually suitable for adhering thin film flexible panels. You will have to create a measured map of your roof top and then look at the sizes the standard panels come in. Also figure out if your roof is prone to standing water as that would become an issue too.