Any 22RE performance experts on here??? Some random questions...

Merry Christmas everyone!  Well it is mostly official, my Mini Cruiser is finally on the road again!!!  "Mostly" as I haven't taken it out for a real drive out of the neighborhood and onto the highway yet, but will be getting some miles in soon.  I am studying up so I can attack the next phase, smooth running, and then 'squirting and performance mods.  

1)  Do our RV's have special spec-ed out cams?  If so what are the details?  I have seen more than a few mentions of "RV Spec" listed in relation to long block assemblies.  A set of valve springs, and some other items lead me to believe the RV engines may have had some different specs.

2)  Is an EGR delete worth it?  Price wise, it is nothing.  And I don't have to worry about the emissions aspect.  Although I am actually contemplating this to improve the emissions.  I think the EGR might be partially deleted, disabled, or just malfunctioning and causing a random pop/miss now and then once it gets hot.  I need to look into this a little more and try to figure out what is actually there.  Anyways, EGR lowers the exhaust temps and decreases efficiency.  Yes, it improves NOX emissions, but a cat lighting off at higher temps and a properly tuned engine would do a LOT more good.  Currently the, truck STINKS and doesn't have a cat.

3)  Was a 1985/6 Mini Cruiser supposed to have a catalytic???  There is a spot that has been replaced with flex pipe where a cat could have fit and about the right distance away...  Currently mine doesn't have one.  This thing runs pretty smelly compared to other non-cat tuned vehicles I have owned before.    

Ideally, I would like all the factory stuff working as it was supposed to so I can get a baseline MPG number.  But if I find anything broken or disabled, I am not likely to replace it to just delete it shortly down the road.