Insurance (Collision) On A Micro Rv?

zero

I got a big surprise yesterday and that got me thinking about RV insurance. Yesterday while on the way to grocery shopping with my wife, little kid, and dog - some guy came down the road the wrong way, in the wrong lane and was heading straight for us. I cut the wheel to the right, drove off the road on to the grass and the idiot still hit us. As least I avoided a head-on collision. This on the front lawn of the Michigan State Police barracks.

Here's my surprise. I've been driving for near 50 years and never, ever, had collision insurance. Just the mandated liability insurance. My mindset being I drive well enough that if I ever got into an accident, it would be the other driver's fault and his/her insurance would have to pay for damage to my vehicle. That's the way it was when I lived in NY, NJ, and VT. Note that I also never buy new vehicles. Total waste of money as I see it. I rarely drive anything with a value of more then $4000.

Found out yesterday as a new Michigan resident that liability insurance does NOT pay for damage to someone else's vehicle. So my Dodge van is wrecked, 100% the fault of the other driver. His insurance has to pay me NOTHING. By Michigan law, I am allowed to take him to small claims court and ask for no more then $1000. Even if I had been driving a $50,000 car, it would be the same. So, this is HUGE news to me. I did not reallize anywhere in the USA was like this. Has me wondering now why Michigan insurance is so damn expensive (twice what it is in New York) considering the coverage is so limited.

This now has me thinking of RV insurance. My RVs are likely more valuable then any car or truck I drive. All I have is bare-bones liability insurance. Now I'm wondering if collision is worth having on an RV that's 30 years old (or more).