Good day all!!

I recently purchaced a 1985 "New Horizons" Toyota 21' Motor Home (it was real cheap) after purchacing it I discovered the difference in rear axles, as a Mechanic, I'm always up to a challenge, (maybe a chevy 350 in place of the 22R?) since there are very few of these toyota's up here in Canada, and the thoughts of finding a full floater up here are very remote, is there anyone here who has put a "non-toyota" rear axle in these trucks? I have done a little research and found that a Chevy S10 axle is very close in physical size to the original, I havn't compared bearing sizes yet, but I think it could be a viable swap using an 8 ply single tire on a wider 15" wheel. Any thoughts out there???

I'm on the road a lot, so I may not get internet when I need it. (the U.S. has a different idea of a strong signal for internet!)

thanks for any and all info, I look forward to reading all the posts on the forum

Mike

Good day all!!

I recently purchaced a 1985 "New Horizons" Toyota 21' Motor Home (it was real cheap) after purchacing it I discovered the difference in rear axles, as a Mechanic, I'm always up to a challenge, (maybe a chevy 350 in place of the 22R?) since there are very few of these toyota's up here in Canada, and the thoughts of finding a full floater up here are very remote, is there anyone here who has put a "non-toyota" rear axle in these trucks? I have done a little research and found that a Chevy S10 axle is very close in physical size to the original, I havn't compared bearing sizes yet, but I think it could be a viable swap using an 8 ply single tire on a wider 15" wheel. Any thoughts out there???

I'm on the road a lot, so I may not get internet when I need it. (the U.S. has a different idea of a strong signal for internet!)

thanks for any and all info, I look forward to reading all the posts on the forum

Mike