I have been reading the past forums like crazy - LOTS of good advice as I am looking at various years and models to buy (it will be my first RV). So far I haven't seen any threads on how many miles is considered a lot of miles for a Toyota. I am edging towards the 22r - because of the incredible reliability, etc. When does the mileage get high enough that, even for a Toyota, problems are much more likely to occur. Is 100,000 considered high? Is it better to stick with something well under 100,000. Any input is greatly appreciated.

We have 105,500 miles on our 1985 Dolphin with the 22re engine, which we purchased last summer at 103,000 miles. I'm not a mechanic at all, but most of what I've read and been told, by two different trusted mechanics and others, suggests we are just getting started and can look forward to years of service from that engine, well past the 200,000 mile mark. Since we figure we probably won't ever put more than a few thousand miles a year on it, we expect to keep rolling for a long time. It had a valve job just before we bought it and appears to have been maintained scrupulously. We are only the third owners. It has always lived indoors when not in use and still does. I kid you not when I say the finish looks like new. And it really waxes up nicely!

I can't say I've seen or heard a lot about the transmission though. If anyone has feed back about this it would be appreciated. My mechanic seems to think that there can be issues with this transmission (automatic with overdrive) around the 150,000 mark, depending on how it is maintained and driven. We leave the overdrive off. We do have the auxiliary transmission cooler (I'm told this is a must. So if you find one without it, plan to add it). So we are hopeful.