1990 V6 or 1984 4Cyl 22R

aprilwms

Newbie here!

We have an opportunity to buy a 1990 V6 18' Sunrader FG-180 Rd OR a 1984 4Cyl 22' FG-210 RKB and can't decide.

$5,000

1990 6 cyl

77,000 mi

well maintained

$3,000

1984 4cyl

33,000 mi

well maintained (new upholstry)

New Catalytic Converter (makes me wonder why it needed new CC with such low miles)

What is the better deal? I have heard there can be problems with the 6cyl engine, but that extra power is enticing. The 18' feels small inside (rear dinette model, no other coach seating. Just me, my husband, child, and small dog. My husband wants the 18' v6 (i know he is thinking surf trips up the coast and small truck is easier) but I am thinking for all us, bigger is better.

Please tell me your thoughts!

Thank you,

April

post-6225-0-51534900-1335218619_thumb.jp

post-6225-0-01953200-1335218764_thumb.jp

post-6225-0-24798200-1335218777_thumb.jp

post-6225-0-67054200-1335218940_thumb.jp

post-6225-0-82385900-1335218950_thumb.jp

post-6225-0-87816400-1335218959_thumb.jp

Edited by Derek up North

without seeing the campers it is hard to give an answer. however assuming that they are what they appear to be I would go for the V6. If the older unit does not have the rear end conversion (to the full floating axle) I would not touch it anyway.

the extra room would be nice IF you have enough engine to pull it around. Never owned a 4 cyl but did test drive one - my assessment is the 4 can do ok in the flatlands but the mountains would be an issue.

I also view the sunraders as being a good setup. Older units with wooden structure (do not know what the FG has) are problematic.

you will get varying opinions on the engines from members here and yes you are correct the V6 is more problematic than the 4 cyl. especially if it hasnt had the headgasket silent recall done. and by now it is way too late to get toyota to foot the bill.