total noob. first post here.

thank you all very much in advance.

(sorry this is so long, just wanted to be clear)

i recently bought a 93 Itasca spirit. Toyota v6. 50k original miles. 21'7" long.

i live on the central coast in ca but bought it in the valley. 2 hrs away.

when i test drove it everything seemed fine with the eng and trans. but... no hills in the valley. and on the test drive i dont think i gave her the gas hard enough to engage the transmission kickdown.

so when it was time to get her over Pacheco pass,... this is the problem that reared its ugly head.

as long as i keep a steady gas pedal all is good. but if im going around 40-50 (or faster) flat road or up a grade and give it the gas pedal ..and she kicks down.. its almost like i put it into neutral? major slippage or something? the rpm's go up but not much if any additional power to the wheels? in fact i will start loosing speed if im going up hill.

the next day after i did get it home i decided to drive around the area a little to see if i could understand the problem a little better. this is what i found out..

the truck runs great! it does not seem to have any transmission problems at all. i dont feel any slipping in any gear? it has lots of power from the start and as long as im on a flat grade and dont use the kick down it seems perfectly fine. on a flat road i can get her up to 65-75 no problem. the other thing i found out is this.. the kickdown on the lower gears is ok.