My Toy has some rust. When I bought it I knew there was body rust, thought it all appears to be on the surface. Today I was crawling underneath and realized that there is far more on the underbody than I realized. (Yes, I'm an idiot and should have inspected it better before buying.)

Nothing looks to be rusted through. I'm pretty much a complete noob when it comes to this sort of thing, so I'm wondering how bad this is. I realize that eventually the rust is going to eat through everything, but is it alright for the time being as long as it's solid? Is there anything I should do to slow down the progression?

Solid?  OK structural rust!   Most things metal will rust.  Where I come from in NY with road salt used every where the old guys sprayed their cars with used motor oil.  Some used new oil with kerosene mixed in.  I used new oil with scented lamp oil mixed in.  Lamp oil is deodorized kerosene.  

On my Toy I am going to use a product called Fluid Film.    There are many online articles about how to use oil or fluid film on cars to preserve them.

This one sprays it on, I will use a brush and garden sprayer to get into voids. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nJSnBJDHT74

Lot's of videos online about this or using oil and other products.                  

Jim,

Interesting suggestion. I was planning on hitting mine with a mix of motor oil and marvel mystery oil but may also do the lamp oil thing.  Can't stand the smell of kerosene. 

Reason for going with Fluid Film vs the simple oil mix?

The rust thing is on my list but still way to many things to get done first;-)

Wade

4 minutes ago, Wade said:

Jim,

Interesting suggestion. I was planning on hitting mine with a mix of motor oil and marvel mystery oil but may also do the lamp oil thing.  Can't stand the smell of kerosene. 

Reason for going with Fluid Film vs the simple oil mix?

The rust thing is on my list but still way to many things to get done first;-)

Wade