1984 Toyota Sunrader suggestions

Jimbo121

Hello, I am going to be looking at a 1984 Toyota Sunrader withen a couple days.

Its a 18 foot, 22R engine with 84 thousand miles, manual transmission.

Since I am rather new to these toyota motorhomes I am hopping I can get some suggestions on what to look for when going to test drive this Sunrader.

Any information you could tell me would be very helpfull....thank you.

I would make sure to check the manufacture date of the tires. They usually get old before the tread wears out. Also make sure that it has truck tires, not car tires. Truck tires will be size 185R 14

not 185/70 14. Truck tires do not have an aspect ratio number.

If you p[lan on using the appliances, make sure it works. They are expensive to repair or replace.

hi there,

i recently pickedup a 84 21' sunrader which also has a 22r with 4sp tranny.

i'd check for:

all the appliances to see if they work, not that i need all of them to work, but i know what i can live with and can't.

if the rear axles have been upgraded.

roof sag and signs of leak and depending on the severity you can negotiate or pass.

ask how long the unit has been in storage or has been sitting, if it's been sitting for a while you will need to flush the system.

how worn the clutch feels

any wet oil marks on the engine

test drive it hard for couple mins local and freeway and let it idle to see if the cooling system is in check.

look under the carriage for any major rusts around the leaf springs, frame or shocks.

ask owner for service records... look at engine and if clean owner prob took care

of it if dirty prob not service enough

look at wheel lugs and make sure it has 6 lugs (5 lug is a recall)

have owner light furnace

lite water heater

cheek for leaks in shower sinks toilet

if generator run it

check for wallpaper look to see if pealing any where(water damage) check cab bed for leaks around windows

lift up mattress look for water damage