Portable Generator

Hi there,

I just certified myself a Toyota Motorhome newbie by buying a 87 Dolphin yesterday. I think there are many questions that needs to be asked cos not just I am a TM newbie, I am also a RV newbie, so please bear with me.

My first question is that I noticed I would require a portable generator for my Dolphin as it lacks one built in and since many things inside the RV depended upon AC hookup to work. Without AC, only lamps and the cooking range exhaust fan works.

Please correct me if I am wrong but I think in lieu of a hookup, a portable generator can be substituted, is this true? MY concept is to start the generator and plug the AC hookup into it.

If so, could anyone point me to the right direct as where I can find a generator with good value, quiet, with decent output, can work for a reasonable length of time ... etc?

Many thanks for the help.

About the only thing that will not run is your roof top air conditioning unless connected to shore power. If you want to run the roof A/C then you need to know what it needs as far as amperage watts etc. The little Honda 1000 watts usually are not big enough so you need to up to 2000 watts. The Honda's are almost dead quiet but they are not cheap, even used. So you can use that as a baseline for noise and what you are willing to accept. The other consideration is the campers around you, too noisy and they may came gunning for you. Manufactures DB ratings can be misleading so an actual hear it test is usually in order.

I would like to pick up a Honda myself, a 2k one would be nice but will probably settle for a 1k model because of cost. Running the A/C is last on my list but being able to charge my batteries with out running the engine is what I want. A friend of mine has a off brand 2k generator that's supposed to be quiet. I have not heard it so maybe I will give him a call and find out how loud and what it is.