Anyone had 3.0 to 3.4L engine swap done? Problems, benefits?

We have a '93 Itasca Spirit with rear dinette, really happy with it size-wise, layout-wise, and personality-wise, but the 3.0 has a weak cylinder, probably a burnt valve.  Head gasket was done by Toyota at 75k, it now has 90+k, and it's passed its last CA smog inspection.  So we have about a year and a half to fix it.  I read here of ToyOnly swaps in Oregon, and contacted them.  They do the swap with a used but good 3.4L, all modifications and new timing belt etc.  

Their customers seem happy, but with such a major modification, I know we have to deal with CA DMV, and that's OK, I figured on that.  But I wondered if anyone here has had that done, and were there any resulting issues, or was it all smooth sailing?  More power, better mileage (than our 5 1/2 cyl current engine), and it sounds great, but as a lifelong mechanic, I know there are plenty of things that can go wrong.  I no longer want to do major engine work, and want something we can enjoy for a while til we're too old, so getting another smooth 50k miles out of it would be fine.

In the past, I'd probably have pulled the heads and done the work, even though I can see it's a miserable engine to work on.  But I'm debating, if I take it into a shop, they do the valves and heads, and timing belt etc., and we can get another 50k out of it, that might be acceptable too.  Even paying a shop, the price would be less than half of the conversion, though the cost is secondary.  Primary is that I want it reliable, and no 'clunk clunk' as you go down the road because the 3.4 engine bangs into the wheelwell, or other unforseen glitches.

So if you've had this done, or know of someone who has, any advice or info would be appreciated.  We're on the shop's waiting list, and will probably go ahead with the swap unless it's a mixed bag of benefits and we may be better off just fixing the 3.0.