Pex Plumbing For My Sunrader Remodel

Getting ready to start putting in the new cabinets for the interior remodel of my 1980 shorty Sunrader.

That means I need to start buying some of the plumbing fittings for the pex. I am totally new to the world of pex plumbing so that means time for research and discussion too. I am not nervous about doing the plumbing, its just a few new tools to learn and differences in the fittings. Plenty of how to videos on using crimpers and specific types of pex fittings should I need to reference them. Plus I have done plumbing in houses and worked with various kinds of supply line tubing on aircraft too, water, hydraulic and oxygen.

I am going to end up using a combination of push fittings and crimp fittings. I can't use all push on Sharkbite fittings as not all the pieces I need are made in that style. That is a fact which I discovered this week while looking for a fitting to screw onto the back of the two handled water supply faucet for the hand held shower in my bathroom.

First task up is repositioning the faucet that controls the shower head. My bathroom does not have a sink but it does have a shower and a water line that connects to the toilet. I decided to reposition the shower faucet control because it was located about 1/3 of the distance up from the floor on the side of the shower wall and it was basically an obstruction to the entry and use of the space in an already tight bathroom. To connect that faucet to the pex I want to use an elbow fitting as I will have a very small depth of space to work in. So off to Home Depot I went with the faucet in hand. Naturally the guy in the plumbing department told me to purchase a fitting that was not the correct one, he tried to sell me one for tapered pipe threads. What I needed turns out to be a Sharkbite UC531LFA El Swvl Pex 3/8X1/2F L and that store does not stock them so I will have to drive an extra 10 miles to get them.

41UeoRVwykL._SY300_.jpg