Hello!
I recently purchased a 1986 Toyota Dolphin with my boyfriend back in April. We did a few different projects on it to get it ready to move into, and now we are traveling out west and living out of it for the foreseeable future. We LOVE it; love the size, love the gas mileage, love pretty much everything about it! However, we've run into a pretty big issue of burning oil at a rate of almost a quart per tank. yikes. We've taken it in to a couple mechanics and today had a leak down test performed to find out exactly where the oil is leaking. Now, I am no expert on engines, so sorry if I'm explaining poorly, but we need some advice. The mechanic said that all four cylinders are leaking pretty heavily. Two are leaking at 30%, one at 40% and one at 70%. The timing chain is also broken. His advice was to find a replacement motor and just replace the whole thing. He said that we could try replacing the piston rings, but that the oil could be leaking out other places as well and that this would really just be a temporary fix. We are traveling to northern California and will be there a few weeks if anyone has any suggestions! We are just wondering if this advice is appropriate and if anyone has any experience with replacing a 22RE motor in a dolphin.
ANY and all advice is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Wait a minute. You drove it to the mechanic but the timing chain is broken? Not possible. No timing chain, no run. At those read outs your camper must have black smoke coming out of the tailpipe. Is that the case? How many miles on it.

Linda S