I am en route to California in Mount Rushmore area and today it appears that I have lost my overdrive option. I notice hearing some noises in the steering column area just before I lost it. This must be an electrical problem with the switch? Any suggestions? Other wise the vehicle is running great but I have lost over-drive which will hurt gas mileage. I would like to get this fixed and could have it looked at while in San Francisco while visiting family but that is about 1500 miles away.

The overdrive shuts off at anything over 4000 ft. There is no reason to use overdirve on the 4 banger. Will run just fine without it and will save your trannie. Only to be used on very flat roads with no headwind or down hill. No locking torque converter and the heat created by the slippage will toast your trannie big time. I have been driving mine for 10 years without ever turning it on and my trannie is still fine. Just checked elevation for the area and you are indeed above 4000 ft. Nothing wrong with the overdrive.

Linda S

I'm a new owner of an 85 Dolphin 22RE automatic with overdrive. I'm in Santa Fe at 7000+ feet. My overdrive works just fine, when I use it. But like Linda said, it's not much use except on very flat, easy cruising terrain. Otherwise, the tranny spends all its time hunting for a sweet spot and shifting up and down for no good reason. Perhaps I have a different version of the overdrive which would explain why it works at this altitude.???

I'm a new owner of an 85 Dolphin 22RE automatic with overdrive. I'm in Santa Fe at 7000+ feet. My overdrive works just fine, when I use it. But like Linda said, it's not much use except on very flat, easy cruising terrain. Otherwise, the tranny spends all its time hunting for a sweet spot and shifting up and down for no good reason. Perhaps I have a different version of the overdrive which would explain why it works at this altitude.???