Would like to get an awning for my motorhome

gr8white

I have a 86 Seabreaze and would like to get an awning for it. Can I get any awning or is there a specific kind. Also, where can I get them new and used? Preferably used. Im new to all of this just got my Toyota 10 days ago. Thanks!

Your choices are simple, Rollup or Bag. Prices vary significantly. The most significant issue will be; Do you have an awning rail already installed (most do). Its that long channel rail near the roof line on the passenger side of the MH, Either awning will slide into that rail.

Heres a link to my awning research:

http://toyotamotorho...?showtopic=3743

Check on E-bay / craigs list, I'd use caution if buying a used one. age, hows the canopy, etc.

Search "Bag Awning" -

IMPORTANT - When your assembling the awning, before you put it on the MH, I would sew valcro strips onto the tie straps.

That way, when you stow this thing, you can do it yourself (hold the roll up with one hand, and pull the valcro strap together with the other. Otherwise, you'll need someone to hold the roll up in the bag while you tie the straps together..

I bought one of those folding one step stools from Harbor freight. This serves two purposes; I use it to stand on, and it also makes a neat little table when sitting outside under the canopy. It folds up and we store it under the table bench seat.

http://www.harborfre...form-66911.html

To Stow the awning;

1) Collapse the poles and hinge them into their storage pockets.

2) Roll the awning up by hand right up into the bag.

3) While standing on the step stool, wrap the tie strap around the rolled awning and use the valcro to hold the two ends of the straps together. If you didn't sew the valcro on the straps, you'll need to tie them together in a knot.

The straps hold the rolled awning up inside the bag before you zip the bag closed.

John Mc

88 Dolphin 4 Auto