Does the alternator charge the coach battery?

dayoff53

Hi!

Well, my lovely bride and I have used my "new" '92 Warrior 321RL once and my son and daughter-in-law have used it once. We are very pleased with it - it suits our traveling style perfectly and it is easy to drive and (relatively) easy on gas. So far, we have only one issue. The coach battery is not charging while we drive. I believe it is charing fine from the shoreline (checking that now), but it doesn't seem to charge at all from the alternator. So...

I read the owner's manual portions on the electrical system thoroughly - it tells all about how the coach battery charges from shore power or the genny, but no mention of charging from the alternator. Then...

I downloaded all the wiring diagrams from Winnebago (well, they didn't have ones for '92, but the '93 diagrams are dated '90 and I'm sure are identical. I'm not very good at reading wiring diagrams, but I can't find any connection from the engine compartment to the coach battery.

help.gifAll my previous experience is with trailers, and they ALL charged from the alternator while driving. Does this not apply to our ToyHomes? Or is this something unique to Winnebagos? Or have I reached the wrong conclusion? Do any of you Warrior owners have information about this? If I have concluded correctly, have any of you added a charging circuit and isolator to charge from your alternator and, if so, can you explain it for the electrically challenged, with diagrams and 8 x 10 color glossy photographs with circles and arrows and a paragraph on the back of each one tongue.gif(apologies to Arlo Guthrie)?

Look carefully under the hood. You should have an isolator. Either a aluminum brick with fin (diode type) or a solenoid type, silver and a little bigger than a 35mm film can.

From my first RV a 1976, to now all have charge the house battery from the alternator