The Rattlevan to Nicaragua

Hedgeman

Hi all - I'm a noob on the forum but thought I'd post our trip that's in progress. We're driving our '81 Sunrader 18' Rear Dinette to Nicaragua. So far we're about 2800 miles deep from our start point in southern California and we're now in Belize. The rattlevan (as we call her) is doing great although there have been a couple of problems. A leaky blackwater valve has shut down our bathroom and yesterday, we broke a shock absorber clean off (working on that problem soon). You can follow our blog at rattlevan.blogspot.com.

I'm currently doing my reading on the suspension problem and also on a smelly gas vapor issue that's driving us crazy. This forum is absolutely incredible folks. The amount of dedication, expertise and general helpfulness is staggering. A big thank you to you all.

Chuck

If the gas fumes smell is inside the moterhome the most likly problem. is the gas tank fillerneck hose there have been a lot talks on here about this very common old adge problem . Both of my toyota homes have had thisproblem napa or car quest sells the hose sold by the inch . gas vapers in camper very dangerous. sorry but not fun to change

Fun stuff Chuck! Is Nicaragua the end of the line for you two? Moving? Heading back home? Driving back? Selling RV there maybe?

Like you said in your blog, you're in good hands as far as getting your shock put back together. Mexicans are pretty damn resourceful especially if they have access to a welder.