I have a 90 Winne 3.0 V6 auto with 74k. Just before I bought it at 62k it burnt a valve on the right bank. The prior owner did a valve job on the right. Now, 12k later I have a burnt valve on the left bank. It burns no oil. Compression test is about 150 on all cyliners except the bad one, which is 25 lbs. It still has quite a bit of power but runs a little rough at idle. I am being told by my mechanic that the extra compression created by a valve job risks damaging the lower end, such as throwing a rod. They are recommending a rebuilt engine instead. Almost half a century ago I was a car mechanic. I did valve jobs all the time with no problems with the lower end. I am told that modern engines are different, but they look the same to me. What is the reality here? Can I do a valve job safely or are the telling me the truth?

Also, it is my conjecture that the fuel injection running lean is causing it to burn valves. It that accurate and what needs to be done to the FI to solve this? If not, what else could be causing it to burn valves

Thanks Larry

Larry

I am a mechanic with 40yrs experience, the last 20 with Toyota. I also have a 90 winnie with 3l engine. I would tell you to get away from that so called mechanic as fast as

possible. On older north american engines if you did valve job on high mileage engine they would sometimes burn alot of oil after but these toyota engines are good for

many miles and dont normally have ring problems. Go ahead and have a valve job done and be sure the person knows how to adjust the valves properly as they are a

shim type. Go to someone who does alot of toyotas, may cost more but will be worth it.

I just returned from holidays with mine. Drove just over 6000 miles and averaged 19.5 mpg (this is on canadian gallon which is bigger than american).

Hope this helps

Jim

It would burn the valves if no body was setting the clearance. On a lot of Toys the valve clearance DECREASES with mileage.