Captian's chair switches...

Alvin

I'm swimming in idea's for improvements on "Odie" (89 Toyota Odyssey). For example I love gulfstream_greg's dash improvement and the only remaining question I have is about the transmission drive-gear indicators... I'd like to make sure that going to a 4-runner (SR5) panel will still give me a correct indication of the gear I'm in; OD and all. I can build one myself (I design circuits and boards for a living... ethernet mostly) but it would not be as cool as the SR5 panel... I had an old SR5 corolla for years and years, until it got totaled (260K and no issues!)

However, in this email I specifically wanted to comment and ask about electrical improvements which are driven from the "driving experience". On my trips so far, I'm the primary driver and most time is spent in the cab. I now have a Pioneer AVH-4200DVD system and a Pyle backup camera system. Next I'm looking at properly installing a CO/LP gas monitor (which I have... but sucks off the 7323 Progressive Dynamics Ripple King converter... holy crap, what a pile of crud... it's another post though). Also, I want to power both rear-view video camera's and a rear floodlight off the front engine battery.

The idea is this... a bank of switches with night-time dimmable LED's for indicating video camera power, and rear/side lights... I dont' want these things on while driving. But the "normal" mode would be working exclusively off the key switch... and another 2ndary power mode which would be on a timer... to give up to 1/2 hour of power... and then shut down to not to drain the battery. The gas monitor is a simple 2-battery system... I'm installing power filters in several locations for the monitor and the video...

Are there any other outdoor features that would be must haves for a high tech Odyssey that I'm leaving out? I could leave a couple of extra positions for future switches but it's so hard to 'guess' ahead.