Repair cracked Shower floor Pan

Repairing the crack in the Shower floor pan.

post-4544-0-33313300-1301269327_thumb.jp

I have a lot of experience working with fiberglass, so this was a no-brainer.

I drilled a 1/4 hole at the end of the crack, this will prevent it from spreading any farther. I also drilled 1/4 holes every few inches on each side of the crack. I was surprised to find that immediately below the pan was a plywood sub pan. I did NOT drill through the plywood.

I then squired some spray urethane foam in all the holes. The urethane expands to fill any gaps and also acts as an adhesive so the bottom of the pan would stick to the plywood.

post-4544-0-32204500-1301269342_thumb.jp

Give the foam a couple days to expand and cure. I then cleaned the excess foam from the pan. I used #80 sand paper and sanded the pan about 3 inches on both sides of the crack. This will allow the fiberglass to adhere to the plastic.

post-4544-0-56577500-1301269355_thumb.jp

I cut two strips of Bidirectional Fiberglass tape (BID) about 18 inches long and 2 inches wide. The fibers run at 45deg.

post-4544-0-83732300-1301269369_thumb.jp

I use West Systems epoxy. I mixed up a couple ounces, wet the pan, then lay up two layers of BID over the crack.

I then laid down a layer of Peel Ply over the glass. When cured. pull the peel ply,

post-4544-0-97390900-1301269393_thumb.jp

Next week, I'll sand the glass to ensure no sharp edges, then spray a coat of clear coat over it to protect the glass.

John Mc

88 Dolphin 4 Auto

That's great! How well does the spray urethane foam support it? Have you put your weight on it to see if it flexes? My shower pan had a similar repair but the rest of the structure was so messed up that I couldn't tell if the spay foam provided enough support.