82 dolphin 20'

doli lover

hello everybody,newbie here and i love this forum,great info.I just bought an 82 dolphin 20' and the previous owners swear it has only 11,000 miles on it.I payed the 25$ to reasearch it on carfacts and found it has been liscenced since 92 but nothing before that,odd,anyway i was wondering if theres anyway to confirm the mileage?Its in great shape.The plug wires are sumitomo,dont know if they are the originals.had to replace a parking light bulb and it was a toshiba bulb.anyway just thought i would throw this at you and see what happens.Randy

Hi Randy,

I'm really new here too, but have been a car collector for about 40 years. There are many ways to check the accuracy of the "newness" of a low mileage auto, not the least of which is the brake pedal. If it is an automatic, the right side of the brake pedal will be worn more than the rest of the pad. If it is a manual, the same is true, but less worn. Next, look at the driver's door striker plate and if it is 111,000 miles, it will show wear there. Then there are a load of other indications not the least of which would be the original spark plug wires. If they are original, they will "look" new, but will be very stiff and inflexible due to age alone. The wear on the driver's seat upulstery will also show wear, in it's flexiblity, and in the foam's response to pointed preasure from your finger. If the vehicle was stored inside, the foam has a lifespan of many years, but if it was subjected to sun and weather it will be in pretty bad shape response wise. Otherwise, look underneath the unit and look for worn out bushings around the front and rear suspension, steering, and so on. If you want to really know, it is almost impossible, but to "see" it all, you then can fairly well make the assumption that the speedo is telling the truth.