New To L.p. Fueled Appliances

Good evening. A few weeks ago, I bought a 1984 Toyota Dolphin which is our family's first RV. After spending the last few weeks "moving in", fixing a few minor issues, getting it licensed, etc. we are almost ready for our first camping trip.

My problem is that I have very limited experience operating L.P. gas appliances. Every place I've ever lived either had electric appliances or very late model natural gas appliances that had automatic igniters and were very user friendly.

So far I've been able to successfully light my gas range (so I know my propane system works), but that's it. I've tried to get my water heater's pilot to light, but can't. As for my furnace and my oven, since I have no experience with gas furnaces or ovens, I don't know if I need to light a pilot for either of those nor do I know how to go about doing that. The manuals for both appliances are poorly written and aren't any help. Any advice would be of great assistance. I'm a little skittish around flammable gases and would like some expert advice before I jump right in and 'experiment' and run the risk of burning myself. Meanwhile, I have an awesome little RV sitting outside of my house but that I can't take camping.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Good evening. A few weeks ago, I bought a 1984 Toyota Dolphin which is our family's first RV. After spending the last few weeks "moving in", fixing a few minor issues, getting it licensed, etc. we are almost ready for our first camping trip.

My problem is that I have very limited experience operating L.P. gas appliances. Every place I've ever lived either had electric appliances or very late model natural gas appliances that had automatic igniters and were very user friendly.