I recently purchased a Jacobs Electronics FC-1000 ignition system, C-4 coil and secondary trigger for use on my 1985 Toyota motorhome with a 22REC engine. Though the installation instructions seemed to be very straightforward, I could not get it to work. After 3 unfruitful calls to their tech support, I sent the whole thing back to Summit for replacement. Summit was super-responsive (as usual) and I soon had a new system. I reinstalled it with the same results--the engine runs fine with the stock ignition but won't run with the Jacobs system. I have been doing my own mechanical work since 1971 but this thing has me frustrated to tears--and it should be very simple according to the installation instructions. Has anyone out there had experience with this system that might lead me in the right direction? Maybe I'm just overlooking the obvious??

Hello, I have only put in an Electronic ignition system on motorcycles, but will ask a few questions

in hopes it might get you closer to the solution.

Are you splicing the FC-1000 in, or are you using a harness adaptor?

Dennis...

Hey, Dennis--Thanks for the reply!! According to the instructions, no splicing is required when using the secondary trigger. You simply run the red and black wires from the FC1000 and secondary trigger to the positive and negative poles of the battery, respectively. Then you run the red from the FC1000 to the red of the secondary trigger and the green from the FC1000 to the green of the secondary trigger and the white and black from the FC1000 to the + and - of the C-4 coil. Finally, you run a "coil" wire from the stock coil to the secondary trigger and and another "coil" wire from the C-4 coil to the stock distributor. It seems pretty straightforward to me--and I've checked and double-checked it a dozen times--but no luck yet.