Seeking First Toyota Motor Home Advice

hello to all, i am currently seeking to purchase my first motor home. i am only interested in the toyota's. being a NEWBEE, i have some questions for the experienced "old timers" out there, first of all, is there one model year, or one motor size that is considered more dependable than an other? pro & cons? 4cly. vs. 6cly ? are there maintenence issues more prevelent on some versions over others? i am recently retired with limited income, but wish to do some "bucket list", traveling as economically as possible. i only have one soild requirement for my motor home and that is a bathroom on board. as far as motor size, stick or automatic, length of motor home, etc. , that is all pretty much open. of course issues as to parts availability, relative cost of repairs, and other operating expenses, i am completely uneducated. any suggestions, insights,or advice concerning the above questions would be greatly appreciated. i have been on the internet doing some research. i do have a budget to work with for the purchase. i do not want to but a "fixer upper", which i have seen on the internet for as low as $1500.00. and i can not afford to buy a "mint" unit in the $9 - 10 thousand range. am i realistic to assume a road worthy, decent shape, most things in working order ( a/c , stove, fridge, bathroom , etc.), can be found in the 5 to 7 thousand range?? again, any help with my questions would be a blessing, thank you in advance. joe h.

Hi Joe, welcome aboard.

First thing I would say is you at least found this community before going out an purchasing one. I am one of those horror stories you hear tell about. The noob who goes and gets himself a bargain without knowing what to look at first. That said.

There are a number of posts through out this site. If you scroll through you will notice some recurring trends.