Gila Wilderness

Debbit

This morning we are leaving to go into some very beautiful, seldom used areas in New Mexico's Gila Wilderness. Beautiful, rough and unimproved. Usually we would take our westfalia on a trip like this, but we want to "not so rough it". Should be fun!

Hi Debbit,

Beautiful camping spot! Could you share which road you were on? I'm planning on a trip to the Gila from Tucson in mid-July. This will be the first off-pavement trip and I don't want to get over my head.

Thanks, Ken

This is past Pinos Altos, rt 15, turn off at meadow creek. Some roads are closed, due to recent fire area. Road is rough, but slow and careful will get you to some nice spots.

Thanks Debbit

I'm glad to see Rt 15 is navigable. I've been up it in an SUV but I'm new to this Toyhome game. Very much looking forward to it!

Google Earth pictures show snow all around Meadow Creek Rd. Ha! We should be so lucky. Here in Tucson we're starting to get some monsoon action, though. How 'bout you?

Thanks again,

Ken

I wish! Still very dry. We have had a couple of cloudy days, one cloudburst. No gully washers yet! Have you ever gone camping up Mt. graham?

Yes, we have been up Mt.Graham and it is fantastic but we haven't been since the mid 90's. It is a very tall mountain and the road is steep and with switchbacks. We were driving an overloaded Subaru wagon and it struggled but made it. Of course at that time we weren't worried about the vehicle being to big to navigate the turns but I don't think it would be a problem for a Toyhome. There are several campgrounds but they had a fire several years ago and I don't know if any were affected. It is very much worth the trip.

Edit: I remember numerous bears.

And apparently the campgrounds survived:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gd47vK5R1TM

Edited by kgibson4

• 2 weeks later...