More Ground Clearance

Saltlakecamper

I am new to Toyota rv's. I recently bought two to make one. When I swap in the full floater I was thinking of adding a 3" shackle, and adjusting the front torsion bars up. An extra three inches and a taller tire would benefit me greatly. We don't camp in campgrounds! Can this be done successfully with not to many negative side effects?

The majority of my favorite camp sites are down dirt roads, which require moderate ground clearance. We're not talking about rubicon, but there are rocks and a few small washes to drive through. 6" of clearance in the front is not enough, I want 3" on all four corners. I'll start on this in a couple weeks and post photos.

Keep in mind all these motorhomes sag low in the rear. Increasing the front height will make the rear sag more pronounced. You could end up with better front height only to have the rear dragging.

Most Toys have the rear axle over the springs, flip the axle and put it under the springs. Then find HD torsion bars and install them to raise the front.

THEN remove any thing heavy off the roof. Because your rig is going to be a bit tippy.

A spring over swap would end up being like six inches do to the large spring pack. How many inches can you get out of hd torsion bars, and where can I get them? Has anyone actually done this? I would think how low these vehicles sit someone has tried it?

I originally looked at putting the axle below the spring but found the height too extreme.

Shackles will lift but I've found 3" of shackle lift gives me about 1.5" of body lift. This is plenty for my rig as I was only looking to remove the sag.

Based on my criteria your 6 inch "flip" should give about 3" of body lift in the rear. Not sure how it will affect balance.

As far as the front end goes I don't know what to recommend.