New Larger vs. 2nd Tank

Alvin

Hi All, this is my first post, and I'm new to the RV universe. Bought a 1989 Odyssey with good working everything, except that it has a new generator in the generator void, which appears to have been installed about 2 years ago, but had never been hooked up to gasoline or power... it has never run. I am making it my project to get the generator hooked up, but the first thing is generator fuel. The fuel system for my Odyssey works great, there is nothing wrong with it. It is currently a small tank (probably about 17 gallons... I'm guessing... first trip with vehicle is this coming weekend and I'll know more). I think the last owner said I could only go 220 miles before needing a fillup... at 15mpg.

My options are...

1) run a fuel line from my generator to the small fuel tank.

2) Install a 2nd fuel tank, and run fuel lines from the generator to the 2nd tank, and also from the vehicle (using a switched valve) to the 2nd tank.

3) Replace the original fuel tank with a new bigger fuel tank... (I want to have it built, I'm thinking 25 to 50 gallons would be fine), and have the generator fuel line run to this. I know a fuel tank fabricator who could help me with this.

Any experience with this from anyone else? I'm leaning toward option 3, replacing the original fuel tank for something humongous.

A 2nd question, what is the biggest fuel tank anyone has ever put into his Toyota Odyssey? Is 50 gallons unheard of? I looked under the vehicle, and there seems to be lots of extra space.

Thanks in advance.

Alvin

I believe I have read about larger capacity tanks that were, I think, 29 gallons. I don't really see too much need to go much larger than that. With 400 mile range, I'd be looking to take a break anyway. And what's the point of carrying around the weight of 20 more gallons of fuel. These are overloaded even with the standard tank!