Right brakelight/blinker won't stay fixed

SusanG

Hi, I'm new at this.  I've had a 1987 Toyota Dolphin for a year and a half.  During that time, the brake/blinker light on the passenger's side has gone out about 5 times.  Each time it's fixed it works for a little while, then crashes again.  I have to say "passenger's side"  because a mechanic told me that I didn't know my right from my left, although the work order distinctly said Right.  I enjoy this website very much; although I don't always know what's going on, I DO know my right from the left.

I'd have to look at the paperwork and it's not handy right now, but I believe they replaced the whole thing on that side - what is it called, a fixture? -  that makes me wonder if it's the wiring inside.   I didn't throw any of the paperwork away, but it's in storage.  Thank you for caring!

Did the same mechanic do all of the fixes? If so he needs to find out what's wrong  for no dollars and fix it again. Mention yelp reviews. If not I have found some wonderful cheap mechanics on craigslist. Just go to services, automotive. 

Linda S

Time? It depends.......and this may not even be your problem. It does sound like a wiring problem but it could be in the switch in the steering column. Do some of the easy work yourself. Your wiring should ground to the chassis somewhere. There will be a wire with a small screw that goes into the frame. Take the screw out. Check your wiring. Is the piece of metal the screw goes through connected good? Take some sandpaper and sand it. Get a new screw. (any hardware store). Sand the area around the hole in the frame so that its bare metal. Put back together. You then at least have a good ground there. 

Generally the switches are made of plastic. (I've never replaced a Toyota turn signal switch) but I have others. Over the years they get loose and come apart. 

Try this next time it's not working. Put your emergency flashers on and see if they work.