How to connect Marine Battery! Need Power!

NenaMC

Hey newbie here. How can I connect them so my marine battery can charge while I'm driving. Here's one of my thoughts; can my marine battery over charge if I'm driving let's say 3 hrs away. Does it stop charging when it's reached its full charge or how can I put a automatic switch so it can switch on and off when it needs charge or not. I haven't put much use to this rig yet.

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

Gracias!:ThumbUp:

idk if it helped or not🤕

Edited by NenaMC

• 5 weeks later...

Hey sorry late reply, no wifi. :/

i have a 1984 Dolphin

I'm gunna send diagram to a friend who might understand this 

😳

Edited by NenaMC

Derek Up North, 

how about we FaceTime and you tell me how to do it!?

🤔

I'll try your MH has two batteries one starts the truck the other supplies power to the stuff in the camper, lights, heater, fan, water pump. So there is this nifty gadget call an isolator. When the truck is running the alternator can charge both batteries but once you turn it off it disconnects the house battery good  ideal if you expect the truck to start the next morning if you are lighting lights running the water pump and the furnace. Basically it is nothing more that an automatic switch. Key on both batteries are joined together key off they are not. In your picture there is an isolator relay it's on the inner left fender near the brake master cylinder and it appears to be wired  from the looks of what you got it just a matter of connecting the coach battery and everything should work as it should.

Hello NenaMC, disregard if all of your questions have been answered.

To add on to what Maineah said, your truck has a voltage regulator that keeps your generated voltage (from your alternator) between about 13.5-14.5 volts or so.  It also cuts the current from the alternator when your battery is up to ~14.5 volts.  So you can't overcharge your battery, as long as everything is working as it should.