Photo

How do I start the heater on this thing?

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 gr8white

gr8white

86 Toyota Sea Breeze

• Toyota Advanced Member
  • 215 posts

Posted 23 September 2012 - 02:25 PM

I cant find a pilot light. Where is that located? I just picked up a new propane tank and this is my first time trying to start it. Also, since the heater hasn't been used in some time what kind of maintenance should I perform? Thanks!

#2 toyboxII

toyboxII

• Toyota Advanced Member
  • 77 posts

Posted 23 September 2012 - 02:54 PM

Hi--don't think your heater has a pilot light as they were done away with in RVs in the late seventies. Your ignition should be by spark igniter which is automatic after about a minute of the fan running. You should hear it clicking as it tries to light the burner. This assumes that there is gas in the line to ignite. Strongly suggest you have a qualified tech service your heater if it hasn't been used for a while as propane appliances require a certain degree of knowledge and skill to operate safely and properly. Good luck!

#3 Davidadro

Davidadro

Dolphin+Harley = Perfect!

• Toyota Advanced Member
  • 424 posts

Posted 23 September 2012 - 03:38 PM

I've since removed my propane heater, but on my 1983 Dolphin propane heater was an electric pezio spark ignighter to get the unit started?

#4 waiter

waiter

Life is short, Fly Fast

• 2,309 posts

Posted 24 September 2012 - 02:59 AM

As others mentioned, there is no pilot light.

Light the stove and let it run for 15- 30 seconds. This makes sure that the plumbing is purged and has propane in it. ( I do this if I havn't used the MH in a while, or whenever I change tanks.)

Your furnace makes one attempt to light when it gets the call for heat (thermostat tells furnace to turn on).

heres the sequence:

1) Call for heat from thermostat. ( Turn the thermostat up so you can get warm)