I have a bad oil leak on the right side of the engine in my Sunrader, either from the oil filter or the oil pan. It only leaks when it is running, and it's leaking a lot. Does anybody know what this could be? Does anybody know what the bolt on the right side of the oil filter is for? Thank you so much!

Have you replaced the oil filter? The pans usually don't leak. One of the most common places they leak are from the front seal behind the belt pulley.

I have a bad oil leak on the right side of the engine in my Sunrader, either from the oil filter or the oil pan. It only leaks when it is running, and it's leaking a lot. Does anybody know what this could be? Does anybody know what the bolt on the right side of the oil filter is for? Thank you so much!

im an ASE tech. i'll try to help but at this point i have more ??? than answers, first im asume its a 22re engine, an the oil leak is at the front rt. side of engine. whats the mi. on it? i would first check the timming cover at the bottom rt. corner i've seen a few with a loose chain wears a hole in the timming cover causing the leak you describe , not likely the oil pan. did your leak start just after an oil change? mabe a double gskt. at the seal, easy to tell an fix i hope its that simple, does the engine rattle/chatter when cold at start up,an clear up when warm, this is a sign of a timn. chain needing replace....sorry i couldent be more helpful or optomistic on this one ...