Small inverter *&^%$#

jjrbus

I have been dragging a cheap  700 watt inverter around for 15 years and do not remember ever using it.  After having my final wireing hookup wihich should have took a couple hours dragged out for 3 days and numerous trips to different stores for terminal ends, i finally got er done!

The terminals are properly crimped,and shrink wrapped, the wires are the right size. I threw the switches and no smoke, no sparks, no tripped breakers, the battery did not blow up, the transformer at the street is still intact and life is good. The inverter is inverting the converter is converting, the battery is being charged.

I don't think about it but the fan on the inverter is running,  I go out this morning and the fan is still running. Loud, noisy and obnoxious, how can something that small make that much noise. The little piece of poop has a continuous fan in it.:o

Any recommendations on a 700 to 1000 watt inverter that does not have a continuous fan running?      Jim

33 minutes ago, jjrbus said:

Any recommendations on a 700 to 1000 watt inverter that does not have a continuous fan running?      Jim

Cheap inverters leave out the thermal switch and the fans run all the time.  That fan noise drives me nuts.  An 800-1200 watt inverter with a thermally controlled fan will virtually never come on unless you are using it at near max load.   AIMs is a good choice and give you the option of with, or without the thermally-controlled fan. Like this.  

http://www.theinverterstore.com/1250-watt-power-inverter-12-volt.html

Image1.jpg

Image2.jpg

I picked up this PowerTech recently. Haven't done much more that hook it up and verify that it does indeed work. Fan doesn't run continuously.

Nice that it includes battery cables, though I needed to mount it further away from the battery, so I ended up grabbing some 2 gauge / 6ft ones from Harbor Freight.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0131L8NLM