I have been starting and moving the Toy a bit in the driveway with no issues, so yesterday cleaned it out and was going to take it for a little shake down cruise today.

And of course it will not start.    Bearing in mind I am not a mechanic I have checked this over and believe it is electrical.  I checked for spark with my ancient spark tester and nothing, not knowing if it is compatible with modern motors I scurried over to Harbor Freight and bought a new inline ignition spark checker, which also shows no spark.  I checked this one on the lawn mower and it is working.

http://www.harborfreight.com/inline-ignition-spark-checker-69014.html

The battery is good and spinning the engine sufficiently to start.  I also tried a small amount of starting fluid.

I checked the fuses under the hood and all were good.  I looked at the contacts in the distributor and see no issues. Fiddled with the wires to make sure everything is tight.

I read on the internet to jump the TE1 and E1 and count the flashes on the check engine light.  I have the dash pod without the tach but can see no check engine light?  I checked the manual and it does not show a check engine light.  I jumped TE1 and E1 with the ignition on and see no flashing lights anywhere.

93 Toyota 3VZE,       Whats next?                   Jim

• Replies 97
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Having tried to start this several times I decided to put battery charger on. Checked voltage and it is 11.7 volts according to multi meter.

All you need to check spark is an old spark plug with the ground electrode broken off or opened way up to a 1/4".  Just hook it to a plug wire, lay against a ground source, and crank.