Leave Appliances Running While Driving?

Hi everyone, total noobies here. Is it OK to leaving electric appliances running while driving? Or does everything get shut down when we head out? I will be shutting down propane while traveling.

• Replies 80
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

What appliances. Only your fridge would need to run and if you have a 12 volt option you can set it to that. Be very careful you turn it off or light propane when you stop or you will run your battery down pretty quickly. I leave my fridge on propane when driving. Never had a problem.

Linda S

Cool, yeah I was just thinking refrigerator. Is it safe to run a mini fridge on an inverter while driving (the coach battery would be charged by the alternator)? The Dometic in our rig is dead and we're thinking of going the mini fridge/inverter route. Thoughts? Thank you for being so patient and informative!

Again a mini fridge is going to be a constant draw on your battery. You just have to remember to monitor it and possibly add a second battery if you intend to camp with no hookups. I love my propane fridge. if it ever breaks I will pay whatever I need to repair it. Already replaced the cooling unit on it once though and it still works great 11 years later. The mini fridge I put in my family room at home lasted 3 years and that didn't have to bounce down the road. If I'd had to replace my camper fridge 3 times in 11 years it would have cost more than the cooling unit

Linda S

How much does the fridge draw for amperage (at start up its a lot more) and how big an inverter are you going to need? Lets figure on you being able to make it work while driving. Are you always going to have power when you arrive at your destination? Ok, beef up the batteries, get a larger inverter there still is the fridge. Total cost? Still not quite as convenient though. Limited run duration on batteries and such.