Looking To Buy

MKUltra

I am new to all of this so I'm just learning about the differences between some of these motorhomes, but there are a couple for sale in my area right now and I'm wondering if there's anything I should be looking for/watching out for. One is a 1990 Odyssey Americana, around 50k miles, nice shape, asking $5800. The other says that it's a 1986 Rogue 18 ft "pop top." I've seen the Chinooks with the pop tops but when I try to Google image search these, I'm not getting any pics. It has 137k miles but with one owner for most of its life, well maintained, and only $3000. The smaller size of that one is attractive to me. I understand that the Americana is a little bit bigger than the other 21 ft motorhomes, and I'm trying to go as small as possible, but is it a better value? Are there any major things to check out with either of these models?

• Replies 135
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm not knowledgeable about the different models, but for me, generally mechanical condition and condition of the coach would be where the decision making would start. The size and type of engine and transmission are a consideration too. Different coaches have different levels of build quality, and that may be obvious. The smaller vehicle may be more economical, the larger more livable and useable. Drive them and get a feel for how each handles.

If the truck part is sound, check the coach part out carefully. Basic things to look for would be places the coach has leaked and caused wood rot (if it is wood framed) or water damage. If possible have the seller show you if all the appliances work and how, if the water lines shower, toilet and pump Are leak-free. A good thing to do is locate and inspect the plumbing, electrical and wastewater system underneath before you decide.