Boxes For Generators

snail powered

I came across a thread on another forum that has some interesting talk about a custom, aluminum diamond plate box for a Honda generator. I can see having someone weld up one of these for my rig. No need to take the generator out of the box to use it.

eu2000_box_4.JPG

Also a link to another forum where there is a modified generator compartment to allow a Honda Generator to fit into it. How he handled the exhaust is interesting, it exits above the RV roof.

http://www.rv.net/forum/index.cfm/fuseaction/thread/tid/20038531/srt/pa/pging/1/page/1

Carefull you are going to set the "experts" off.

Now that I look closely at the diamond plate box I see that it is riveted and I am a professional Rosie the riveter by trade. I had forgotten that my friend did bring home a Mig welder last fall but I have not tried using it. Either way I can probably make the box myself if I put my mind to it. The store Online metals is located right in my neighborhood so they will cut all the basic sections for me. I can make the openings with a router and templates.

But no point in making a box until I get a generator to put in it.

Onlinemetals.com has been great. Before places like their's - if I wanted a piece of "non-stocked" metal from the local steel dealer - I had to buy at least 20-30 feet of it. Now I can buy by the inch or foot. I just got some DOM tubing from them last week.

Might as well provide entertainment for the experts. The computer screen is the replacement for the old gas stations with benches and a chest full of soft drinks out front.

Soft drinks? What the heck happened to beer?

Onlinemetals.com has been great. Before places like their's - if I wanted a piece of "non-stocked" metal from the local steel dealer - I had to buy at least 20-30 feet of it. Now I can buy by the inch or foot. I just got some DOM tubing from them last week.