Brakes

Tdb

Hey everyone, newbie here, just got my 1989 V6 Dolphin home and need some advice on the best place for brake parts. The rear brakes are dragging . Thanks for any help.

Hi! i also have 1989 toyota dolphin and got my rear brakes from napa auto parts! if you are doing rear brakes good time to grease rear wheel bearings and good idea to replace the seals! lots of info on this site about doing this project so just scan through the posts! Rick

Yeah unless you want to go to the dealership or an online OEM parts store, Napa is a good bet. I usually avoid Auto Zone, unless I know the brand part I'm looking for and they happen to have if for cheap. But typically Auto Zone carries lower quality stuff.

RockAuto.com is also a very good resource, if you want to go online. But with shipping you don't always end up saving money.

I ordered most of my brake parts from Amazon which I found was the cheapest. Read about my brake rebuild on my blog at ...

http://daysofexploration.blogspot.com/2013/04/third.html

I did my rear brakes last year, new brake rotors, brake pads and axle seals, all from Rockauto.

Also, be sure to flush your brake lines (like flush a quart or two of brake fluid thru), I was amazed on the improvement of the brakes

that fresh fluid does. I think my brake fluid was mostly original and had moisture in it.

Dennis...

Anthony,

I read your description of fixing up your rear brakes on your Toyota. Very clear with great photos! I have to do this job but I've been putting it off since I didn't even know what a seal looks like. Is the seal with the red edge that's in the photo, the outer seal? Where is the inner seal? Is it in the hub? Also, did you get the new brake drum from Amazon as well?

Did you adjust, remove or do anything with the proportioning valve?

Thanks,

John

Anthony,