Gulfstream Greg

Toyota Motorhome Axle Facts!

284 posts in this topic

Axle Facts, Questions & Answers is a place to post your questions regarding the old and new axles our Toyota Motorhomes have. 1985 and earlier Toys came with a non floating type axle subject to breaking. 1986 and later were equipped with a full floating axle.

For a complete Axle Fact article written by HeyJames451 from the Yahoo Campers group click Axle_FAQ.pdf. You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader. The document will open in its own window.

I decided this thread should be left open for questions and answers.

I had serious concerns about the axle on my '84 Odyssey and assumed that it had been part of the recall. I finally checked out the NHTSA website and found out that the recall applied only to some 180 models sold in '85 and '86. And not to the ones manufactured by General RV (which mine is).

This was a very pleasant surprise, but I'm no axle expert and now I'm curious what makes mine different.

Should I still have any concerns?

Thanks

Janna

I am looking at an early version (1979) of the Sunrader that is 17 feet long. Would the 5-lug axle be considered safe or should one replace it with the 6-lug dually?

Thanks. John

I had serious concerns about the axle on my '84 Odyssey and assumed that it had been part of the recall. I finally checked out the NHTSA website and found out that the recall applied only to some 180 models sold in '85 and '86. And not to the ones manufactured by General RV (which mine is).

This was a very pleasant surprise, but I'm no axle expert and now I'm curious what makes mine different.

Thanks
Janna

If you could, send another post and attach a picture or two of your axle, showing the lug nuts , differential, and so forth, maybe we all could compare it to what we have to try to identify the beefed up 5-lug axle.
I found a place that will actually make a brand new axle of almost any type, including the 6-lug full floating axle.