1986 Toyota Conquest assessment from afar?

pdeng

Hi all,

I'm a newbie trying to find my way to my first Toyota motorhome. I live in Richmond, VA, a six-hour drive from this https://youngstown.craigslist.org/rvs/d/elkton-1986-toyato-conquest-rv/7146793815.html 1986 Conquest, 68,000 miles, images look good, for $6,500. The owners says no rust and some leaks were "fixed well" by the owner prior to him. I have the time to make the drive and look, but from all of your more knowledgable perspectives, what would you want or want to know before traveling six hours to look at the vehicle?

Thanks!

Philip

Pull a rear hubcap (or have the seller do it).

If the rear wheels have only 5 lug nuts holding them to the rear axle, the axle is unsafe, and needs to be upgraded. You’re looking at 2-4K for an axle swap (if you can find one). Factor this into your offer if you’re thinking of buying.

I bought my 1986 Sunrader and it was a 24 hour drive away. :)
I had a friend who lived an hour away drive up and give me a look via facetime.

You could do this with the seller if they can. Always nice to take a virtual walk around inside and out before taking the drive.

As you know, once you all that way it is difficult to come home empty handed.
That said, beyond the mechanics, the big surprises are always hidden behind the walls. If there have been leaks, how was the moisture dealt with? Perhaps seller can elaborate?
If it was just covered up you will have to deal with mold and rot eventually...

Have you actually driven a 4 cylinder or a 6 cylinder?  I drove both and decided I wanted the minor extra power and more quiet cabin of the 6 cylinder.  4 cylinder is easier to work on and cheaper to replace though, to each his own. I just enjoyed driving the 6 cylinder better.