Completely New!!

Blaine_on_the_road

I am brand new to motor-homes! I am looking at a few options, but my favorite so far is a 1979 Toyota Huntsman. I am going to be traveling the country with my daughter for a bit. What do I need to know before buying? What do I need to look at? The Huntsman has 33,000 miles on it, manual transmission. I asked if it was 5 or 6 axle, but I have not received a response quite yet. I am going to look at it tomorrow, but thought I should join this forum and get advice from people who have some experience. Please share anything that may be helpful to know!

You’re looking at a 40 year old vehicle. I would add at least another 100K to the mileage. Rear axle is the biggy. If only 5 lugs your looking at $2-4K to upgrade to a ff axle. The 5 lug axle is unsafe.

Everything else use due diligence. Take it for a test drive. Nothing that old is going to be “turnkey “.

Post tire size and check tire mfg dates. Tires are 600-1000$

Make sure everything works. Have the owner turn on the refrigerator, the furnace, the water system, the water heater, the stove, the roof top air conditioner, the cab dash air conditioner and heater, all the driving lights, coach outdoor lights and the 12 volt interior lights. If the owner says he doesn't know if they work or hesitates to turn everything on for whatever reason, assume that they don't work and go from there. For instance if you won't need the shower, you can get by with out a functioning water heater. You can heat water for dishes or cleanup on the stove top.

Also look for signs of water leaks particularly under the bunk over the cab. Leaks aren't necessarily a deal breaker unless the whole roof is falling down or you can see daylight through the sides. Some leaks you can live with, some are more difficult. You decide.

The axle is the biggie, though. Make sure its a six lug, full floating type. Your trip sounds like fun...

Edited by wemit
clarity