Driving in the snow??

LittleShack

Can anyone tell me how these RVs handle in the snow? I am trying to avoid this, but in case I am stuck, how do the duallys handle the snow? I have lots of snow driving experience in trucks and cars, but the RV is a whole other beast. Are chains a good idea? All season tires? Thanks!-Sue

Well I had a dually Dodge it was about as useless as it gets in the snow even with a limited slip diff. Now it did not have a house on it's back for weight but I'm guessing the front wheels on a toy home may have a tendency to lookup mine stayed in the barn till May! 

I live in the mountains in WY, if you don't go in the winter you don't do much for 5 months a year.

With decent all season tires they do pretty good in snow. Rear weight basis ya know. I have driven over South Pass several times in the winter with my Toy, even pulling a trailer. The magic is a SMART CAREFUL DRIVER going slowly. Unless you're going off the road, over a cliff or into a 4ft high snowdrift, don't ever stop, even if the rears are spinning.

Chains are a last resort. If its really that bad stay home

Also on my toy the brake basis was set FULL to the rear 

Now on real ice fergetaboutit. Also, a limited slip on ice is bad juju, with both tires spinning and a little road camber the rear will slide off to the low side. With an open differential you may not be able to go, but on an iced up off-camber road the tire that isn't spinning will give you some side bite and that maybe thats enough to keep you on the road. On dry pavement and an overabundance of HP a limited slip is a true wonder.

Edited by WME